jump to navigation

The 20 Most Cromulent Simpsons Episodes of All-Time: #11 Thursday, May 24, 2007

Posted by SA in Not better than the SOFTBALL EPISODE, SA, the balls, the simpsons, total cromulnce, TV.
Tags: ,
trackback

10 more weeks until “The Simpson Movie” graces the big screen and we run out to see it. I’m going to try and wash all that bad season finale karma off of us by giving you the 11th most cromulent episode of the show ever and ever and always.

One of the advantages of being poor is that you never go anywhere during the holidays/vacations times of the year. Be honest, looking back at your childhood, was those family trips to Disney World or the Grand Canyon that great? I think not. Well, I never had to worry about any of that shit. I also didn’t sign up for any of those little leagues or go through the premise of our next episode. And to be honest, I don’t think I missed a damn thing. There was nothing better than running around playing tag with your friends from the neighborhood on a July evening underneath the night lights, the humidity getting to you like a motherfucker but a slight breeze coming in from the ocean. You may scoff now, but when you were 8? That that was the life.

So while our next episode is a good one, bah on it as well. Kids don’t need to go away for the summer. They need to live it up without expectations for as long as they can. Cause once they hit high school it all goes down the shitter.

#11

Kamp Krusty

Written by David M. Stern
Directed by Mark Kirkland

Season 4, Episode 1
Originally aired September 24, 1992

20. Homer At The Bat
19. Hurricane Neddy
18. Homer Goes to College
17. Homer’s Enemy
16. The Cartridge Family
15. 22 Short Films About Springfield
14. Treehouse of Horror II
13. El Viaje Misterioso de Nuestro Jomer
12. Mr. Plow
11.Kamp Krusty
10.
9.
8.
7.
6.
5.
4.
3.
2.
1.

Episode Synopsis

Bart and Lisa have looked forward all school year to going to Kamp Krusty during the summer with the rest of the Springfield kids. They have high expectations for the camp, but are quickly come back down to reality of what Kamp Krusty really is. At the end Krusty comes to save the day and takes the kids on a trip to Tijuana, Mexico. Cause what 8 and 10-year-old doesn’t want to go to Tijuana?

Why This Episode Is Particularly Cromulent

It’s comes right in the middle of the show’s heyday, Seasons Three and Four. There is a lot of minor character interaction and some good gags.

Notes and Observations

  • This episode was suggested by James L. Brooks to become a Simpsons movie. The writers couldn’t stretch it out to movie-length so it became the season premier of season four instead.
  • “Kamp Krusty” was allusive to the novel “The Butterfly Revolution” by William Butler.
  • We first find out Ralph’s last name is Wiggum during this episode.
  • This was the last episode to be animated by Klasky Csupo, Inc.
  • You can see both of Dolph’s eyes in this episode because he is wearing a hair net.
  • There are various references to “Lord of the Flies”-the kids wearing war paint, using primitive weapons, and burning the effigy to name a few.
  • When Kearny beats the drum while the kids are making the wallets it is a direct copy of a scene in Ben-Hur.
  • In the scene where Marge packs Bart clothes, the reflection of Bart in the mirror isn’t drawn correctly and both of them look pale instead of yellow.
  • Rod is seen in the bus going to Tijuana although we never see him at Kamp Krusty.

Memorable Quotes

Principal Skinner: Somebody put a torch to these permanent records. Quickly now!

Marge: Homer, you do remember your promise to the children?
Homer: Sure do! When you’re 18, you’re out the door!

Bart: Just remember when you see my report card, they’ve got this whole new grading system this year. It now goes D-B-A-C.

Miss Hoover: Here are your final report cards. I have nothing left to say to any of you, so if nobody minds, let’s just quietly run out the clock.

Miss Hoover: Now Lisa, everyone needs a blotch on their permanent record.

Bart: Mrs. Krabappel, in figuring out my final grades, I hope you’ll note that all of my textbooks are being returned in excellent condition. In some cases, still in their original wrappings!

Teacher: Wait a minute! You didn’t learn how World War II ended!
Class: [pause their celebration, waiting for the answer]
Teacher: We won!
Class: Yay! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A!

Krusty: For you fat kids, my exclusive program of diet and ridicule will really get results!

Bart: Well Dad, here’s my report card. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.
Homer: [incredulously] A-plus?!? You don’t think much of me, do you boy?
Bart: [almost proudly] No sir!
Homer: You know a D turns into a B so easily. You just got greedy.
Bart: So I won’t get to go to camp?
Homer: [sternly] Now Bart, we made this deal because I thought it would help you get good grades. And you didn’t. [brightly] But why should you pay for my mistake?
Bart: You mean I can go?
Homer: Yeah. I didn’t want you hangin’ around all summer anyway.

Krusty: [on TV] Hi Kids! Welcome to Kamp Krusty! Hoo huh hoo heh ha heh! I’ll see you in a few weeks! Until then, I turn things over to my bestest buddy in the whole wide world, dubbed [Mr. Black]. I want you to treat [Mr. Black] with the same respect you would give me. Now here’s [Mr. Black].

Mr. Black: For the past 15 years I was president of Euro-Krustyland… until it blew up.

Jimbo: Here’s your cabin. If you don’t like it, T.S.

Campers: (singing) Hail to thee, Kamp Krusty,
By the shores of Big Snake Lake.
Though your swings are rusty,
We know they’ll never break.
Jimbo
: Louder! Faster!
Campers: (singing) From your gleaming mess hall,
To your hallowed baseball field,
Your spic-and-span infirmary,
Where all our wounds are healed.
Hail to thee, Kamp Krusty,
Below Mount Avalanche.
We will always love Kamp Krusty,
registered trademark of the Krusty Corporation,
All rights reserved!

Lisa: You’re serving us gruel?
Dolph: Not quite. This is Krusty Brand Imitation Gruel. Nine out of ten orphans can’t tell the difference.

Lisa: I feel like I’m gonna die, Bart.
Bart: We’re all gonna die, Lis.
Lisa: I meant soon.
Bart: So did I.
.

Lisa: Dear Mom and Dad. I no longer fear Hell because I’ve been to Kamp Krusty. Our nature hikes have become grim death marches. Our arts and crafts center is, in actuality, a Dickensian work house. In the cabin, Bart makes it through the days relying on his unwavering the belief that Krusty the Clown will come through. But I am far more pessimistic. I am not sure this letter will reach you as our line of communication has been cut. Now the effort of writing has made me light headed, so I close by saying…Save us! Save us NOW!

Barney: Yeah Bart, I am so Crunchy the Clown! [belches]

Bart: I’ve been scorched by Krusty before. I got a rapid heartbeat from his Krusty brand vitamins, my Krusty Kalculator didn’t have a seven or an eight, and Krusty’s autobiography was self-serving with many glaring omissions. But this time, he’s gone too far!

Bart: My chunky brothers! Gorge yourselves at the trough of freedom!

Kent Brockman: Ladies and Gentleman, I’ve been to Vietnam, Afghanistan, and Iraq; and I can say without hyperbole that this is a million times worse than all of them put together.

Bart: We want the whole world to know that this was a really crappy camp. [covers microphone with his hand] Can I say `crappy’ on TV?
Kent: Yes, on this network you can.

Bart: How could you Krusty? I’d never lend my name to an inferior product.

Bart: Krusty! This camp was a nightmare! They fed us gruel, they forced us to make wallets for export, and one of the campers was eaten by a bear!
Krusty: [horrified] Oh My God!
Bart: Well, actually, the bear just ate his hat.
Krusty: Was it a nice hat?
Bart: Oh yeah.
Krusty: Oh My God!

Summary

“Kamp Krusty” is the reason why I’m glad I never had to go to camp. Because I am quite sure that is the same experience everyone who did go had. Minus the Tijuana part.

Comments»

1. MitchKayak - Thursday, May 24, 2007

This one is def. not better than the softball episode. Switch this and the softball ep post haste. And re-vulcanize my tires.

2. larry burns - Thursday, May 24, 2007

not better than the softball one is right, although this one is very enjoyable.

3. Peter Cavan - Thursday, May 24, 2007

You forgot the best quote of all:

Mr. Black: “Gentlemen, to evil!”

It’s still the standard toast when I get together with any of my college roommates.

4. DougOLis - Thursday, May 24, 2007

Tijuana is indeed the most magical place on earth. Where else can you drink underage, pay $1/beer, get 3 tacos of delicious questionable meat, and pay to see a donkey fuck a chick?

5. larry burns - Thursday, May 24, 2007

perhaps at moobys?

6. UkraineNotWeak - Friday, May 25, 2007

Love this episode because it contains favorite Simpsons line of all time. “Dear Mom and Dad, I no longer fear Hell. I’ve been to Kamp Krusty.”

7. Dave - Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Kent Brockman: Ladies and Gentleman, I’ve been to Vietnam, Afghanistan, and Iraq; and I can say without hyperbole that this is a million times worse than all of them put together.

This has to be one of my all time favorite Simpsons quotes, just reading it has me giggling.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

