jump to navigation

The 20 Most Cromulent Simpsons Episodes of All-Time: #17 Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Posted by SA in animation, cartoons, I don't get out much, making enemies of nice people, Not better than the SOFTBALL EPISODE, reading this post will only waste valuable seconds, Reasons why I am single, SA, the simpsons, total cromulence, TV shows.
trackback

Simpsons

Only 16 more weeks until we’ll all get to go outside in light (that shit burns) and see-at a movie theater near us-“The Simpsons Movie.” Yea! Until then you have CDNMoose and SA counting down the 20 most cromuletest episodes of The Simpsons ever. Because we know that you want it more than anything.

My mother taught me that old adage “don’t hate people.” Or something like that. The point is, I’ve never hated another human being. Oh sure, I’ve disliked people. A lot of people to be exact. In fact, there was this one guy who I particularly didn’t like. We were friends at first, good friends actually. And we were each other’s first kiss. And I developed a crush on him. Until I found out through that lovely middle school grapevine known as the girls’ bathroom that he was telling everyone that we…did it. Because of course when you’re 11 you don’t say the word sex because it makes you giggle like a, well, middle school girl.

Anyway, when I found out about this I was pissed. Beyond pissed. The great thing for me was that I overheard the conversation between two girls (who I also didn’t like) during 4th period, which was the class before lunch and recess. So during that recess break when everyone else was talking and playing kickball and such, I went up to him, right in front of his “boys”, and kicked him in the balls. And once he fell down on the ground I started kicking him again. At which point I kicked his balls again.

It was glorious.

I have yet to do anything else in my life that has made me so proud. And I would do it again in a heartbeat. In fact, I suggest all females out there who reputation is being sullied by wannabe over-achieving in the sex department males to kick them in the nuts. It makes you feel a lot better. A LOT.

Where was I? Oh right, the Simpsons episode. The point I was trying to make is that I’ve never hated someone in my life. And I’ve never had an enemy so I don’t really know what that feels like.

But a character in episode #17 knows all about having an enemy. So follow me and let’s learn about it together, shall we?

#17

Homer’s Enemy

Written by John Swartzwelder
Directed by Jim Reardon
Season 8, Episode 23
Originally aired May 4, 1997

20. Homer At The Bat
19. Hurricane Neddy
18. Homer Goes to College
17.Homer’s Enemy
16.
15.
14.
13.
12.
11.
10.
9.
8.
7.
6.
5.
4.
3.
2.
1.

Episode Synopsis

Frank Grimes gets a job at the Power Plant and comes to hate Homer while working with him. Meanwhile Bart buys an old factory for $1 and employs Milhouse. Believe me, a hell of a lot better show then what I’ve described.

Why This Episode Is Particularly Cromulent

There have been plenty of people in Springfield that has hated Homer or the Simpson family. By the end everything is A-OK and everyone is friends again. Not this time. Homer has a real enemy, one which he doesn’t even realize hates him and when Homer tries to make friends, pisses off the enemy even more. Plus, anytime a character has the nickname “Grimey,” it’s a good thing.

Notes And Observations

  • Bill Oakley, one of The Simpsons show runners during the eighth season, thought up the idea of the episode. He wanted a “real world” character to be Homer’s co-worker.
  • Frank Grimes was modeled after Michael Douglas’ character Bill Foster/D-FENS in Falling Down.
  • Usually a character that stars in one episode would have been given to a guest star, but instead the producers decided that Hank Azaria would play the role. Their thinking was that a person with knowledge of the show would be a better fit. Azaria modeled the role after William H. Macy, whom he thought should have been brought it to do the voice.
  • Josh Weinstein, the other show runner of the eighth season, have since regretted killing of the Frank Grimes character after only one episode.
  • When the episode first aired, many at the time thought it wasn’t funny and too dark, but has since backed off from that and is now seen as a favorite by fans.
  • Weinstein considers this one of the most controversial episodes he ran throughout his time with the show.
  • I love the scene where Grimes comes to the Simpsons’ house and sees all the pictures of Homer. They were: Homer with former President Gerald Ford (if I mayHomer and Gerry add-there is a trophy of a football player throwing a ball in the background. Also on the trophy is the letter M. As a Michigan fan I insist in pointing that out to you. Go Blue!), Homer with the Smashing Pumpkins on tour at Lollapalooza, Homer while in outer space, and Homer (and the rest of the B-Sharps) receiving their Grammy award.
  • As noted by CDNMoose in the last installment of the cromulent 20, Homer did go to college. But in this episode Lenny points out that Homer just “showed up” when the plant opened. He did not do that. He had graduated high school and Marge was pregnant with Bart when he got that job. This added to the fact that the writers seem to go the extra mile in making Homer look like and idiot in this episode just seems to write in stone the “Homer is a dolt” thinking.
  • Frank Welker, a noted voice actor, came in just to do the role of the dog Burns gets to be Executive Vice President.

Memorable Quotes

    Burns: “Smithers, I’ve just seen the most heroic dog on television. He pulled a toddler from the path of a speeding car, then pushed a criminal in front of it. Find this dog. I want to make him my executive vice president.vice president dog
    Smithers: “Uh, yes sir. In the meantime, here’s Frank Grimes.
    [Grimes offers his hand, but Burns just stares blankly]
    The, the self-made man?
    Burns: “What? Oh, yes, that fellow. Mmmm, put him somewhere out of the way, and find that dog!”

    Grimes: Oh, that’s my degree in nuclear physics. I’m sure you all have one.
    Lenny: Oh yeah, Carl and I each have a masters’. [chuckles] Of course, old Homer, he didn’t need a degree. He just showed up the day they opened the plant.
    Homer: I didn’t even know what a nuclear panner plant was.

    Homer: Hiya Stretch, what’s the good word?
    Grimes: My name is “Grimes,” uh, Simpson, Frank Grimes. I took the trouble to learn your name, so the least you could do is learn mine.
    Homer: Okay, Grimey.

    Grimes: God, he eats like a pig.
    Lenny: I dunno. Pigs tend to chew. I’d say he eats more like a duck.
    Grimes: Well, some kind of farm animal anyway. And earlier today, Ihomer eats like slob saw him asleep inside a radiation suit. Can you imagine that he, he was hanging from a coat hook.
    Lenny: He had three beers at lunch. That would make anybody sleepy.
    Grimey: I’ve never seen him do any work around here … what, what is his job?
    Lenny: Safety inspector.
    Grimes: That irresponsible oaf? A man who by all rights should have been killed dozens of times by now?
    Lenny: Three hundred and sixteen times by my count.
    Grimes: That’s the man who’s in charge of our safety. It, it boggles the mind.
    Carl: It’s best not to think about it.

    Homer: Hi, Grimey old buddy.
    Grimes: I’m not your buddy, Simpson. I don’t like you. In fact, I hate you! Stay the hell away from me, because from now on, we’re enemies!
    Homer: Okay. Do I have to do anything?

    Homer: Oh, I can’t believe it, I got an enemy. Me the most beloved man in Springfield.

    Grimes: I — I live in a single room above a bowling alley and below another bowling alley.
    Homer: Wow.

    Grimes: You? Went into outer space? You?
    Homer: Sure. You’ve never been?

    Grimes: God, I’ve had to work hard every day of my life, and what do I have to show for it? This briefcase and this haircut! And what do you have to show for your lifetime of sloth and ignorance?Grimey upset
    Homer: What?
    Grimes: Everything! A dream house! Two cars! A beautiful wife! A son who owns a factory! Fancy clothes and [sniffs air] lobsters for dinner. And do you deserve any of it? No!
    Homer: [gasps] What are you saying?
    Grimes: I’m saying you’re what’s wrong with America, Simpson. You coast through life, you do as little as possible, and you leech off of decent, hardworking people like me. Heh, if you lived in any other country in the world, you’d have starved to death long ago.
    Bart: He’s got you there, dad.
    Grimes: You’re a fraud. A total fraud.

    Grimes: Can you believe that guy? He’s in his office making a pathetic attempt to look professional.
    Carl: Hey, what do you got against Homer, anyway?
    Grimes: Are you kidding? Does this whole plant have some disease where you can’t see that he’s an idiot? Look here. [points at a chart] Accidents have doubled every year since he became safety inspector, and, and meltdowns have tripled. Has he been fired? No. Has he been disciplined? No, no.
    Lenny: Eh, everybody makes mistakes. That’s why they put erasers onmmm...donuts pencils.
    Carl: Yeah, Homer’s okay. Give him a break.
    Grimes: No! Homer is not okay. And I want everyone in this plant to realize it. I would die a happy man if I could prove to you that Homer Simpson has the intelligence of a six-year-old.
    Lenny: [to Carl] So, how are you doing?

    Bart: Just a minute, van Houten. Somebody needs to guard this place at night so it doesn’t get trashed. How’d you like to be night watchman?
    Milhouse: I’m sleepy.
    Bart: Ah, no problemo. Here’s a nickel for the coffee machine. [hands a nickel over and leaves]
    [Milhouse deposits the nickel in the machine. It dispenses a cup, then a rat, then some coffee]
    Milhouse: [sips from the cup] So this is my life. At least I’ve done better than Dad.

    Burns: Could you explain your model, young man?
    Grimes: [from audience] What’s to explain? He’s an idiot!homer model
    Lenny: [from audience] Pipe down!
    Homer: Well basically, I just copied the plant we have now.
    Burns: [impressed] Hmmm.
    Homer: Then, I added some fins to lower wind resistance. [points to a stripe on the cooling tower] And this racing stripe here I feel is pretty sharp.
    Burns: Agreed. First prize.
    Grimes: [stands up] What?
    Carl: Way to go, Homer!
    Lenny: You’re number one, Homer!
    Grimes: But it, it was contest for children!
    Lenny: Yeah. And Homer beat their brains out!

    Grimes: Oh, I, I can’t stand it any longer. This whole plant is insane. Insane, I tell you! [snaps mentally] Daahh! Aaah!
    [runs out of the auditorium into equipment room]
    I can be lazy too! [takes his tie off, and moons one of the technicians] Look at me, I am a worthless employee, just like Homer Simpson! Give me a promotion!
    [walks into the break room, and grabs two donuts from the box]
    Ooh, I eat like a slob, but nobody minds! [eats in an exaggeratedly slobbish fashion]
    [heads into a bathroom]
    I’m peeing on the seat. Give me a raise!
    [emerges from the bathroom and waves his hands in Homer's face]unwashed hands
    Now I’m returning to work without washing my hands. But it doesn’t matter, because I’m Homer Simpson!
    [runs to Homer's work station and spins around in the chair]
    I don’t need to do my work, ’cause someone else will do it for me. D’oh! D’oh! D’oh! [slaps forehead on each "D'oh!"]
    Homer: Hey, you okay, Grimey?
    Grimes: I’m better than okay. I’m Homer Simpson.
    Homer: [chuckles] You wish.
    Grimes: [notices Burns] Oh, hi, Mr. Burns. I’m the worst worker in the world. Time to go home to my mansion and eat my lobster.
    [walks up to some dangerous-looking wires]
    What’s this? “Extremely High Voltage.” Well, I don’t need safety gloves, because I’m Homer Simp–
    [zap]

    Rev. Lovejoy: Frank Grimes, or “Grimey,” as he liked to be called, taught us that a man can triumph over adversity. And even though Frank’s agonizing struggle through life was tragically cut short, I’m sure he’s looking down on this right now …
    [Lovejoy's voice fades as the camera pans to a sleeping Homer]
    Homer: [in sleep] Change the channel, Marge.
    [mourners laugh]
    Lenny: That’s our Homer!

Summary

What I’ve learned from “Homer’s Enemy” is that sometimes the lazy people win. So be lazy, people.

Oh, and if you’re Homer Simpson’s enemy you’re pretty much gonna die. So don’t be enemies with him. There you go.

death

Comments»

1. heyzeus - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

I actually really hated this episode. The Grimes character, and his interactions with Homer, just annoy me. But there are of course some fantastic lines and aspects of it.

2. Baba Oje - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

This multi-authored collaboration confuses the hell out of me. It took me awhile to figure out cdnMoose isn’t ####. Not that theres anything wrong with that

3. steve - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

You can’t imagine how confusing the first 3 paragraphs were, especially considering I thought this was a post authored by CDNMoose.

4. steve - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Baba, if two people think the same thing… does that make it true?!

5. Jerkwheat - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Agreed. At first I thought the Moose was as bisexual as a Michael Scott suit. Then I realized SA wrote it. Now, I’m scared of SA.

6. MitchKayak - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

“I wonder where all the rats will go?”

*all the rats run into Moe’s Tavern*

7. Peter Cavan - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

“OK, everybody tuck your pants into your socks.”

“You will notice that I am now a model employee. We should continue this conversation during the designated break period. Sincerely, Homer Simpson.” [Homer eats donut with knife and fork]

I missed Milhouse’s line “At least I’ve done better than Dad.” It’s not in the syndication cut.

When this episode first aired, I didn’t like it. Then one of my friends made a passionate argument about how it was his favorite episode. So I watched it again and saw it in a new light. Now it’s one of my all-time favorites.

8. Chief Wahoo - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

You’ve made me the happiest boy in the whole world! Best. Episode. Ever. I seriously almost hurt myself laughing every time I watch it. It’s brilliant absurdist humor to bring in a “real” character to play off of Homer. In a lot of ways it’s similar to Borat, but funnier. Good job.

“Can I have this pencil?”
“No”
“How about this one?”
“No”
“How about…”

9. SA - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Baba, Steve, Jerkwheat-I’ll try to forget that the three of you thought I was a boy.

And Jerkwheat, you don’t have to be afraid of me. I’m really a nice, sweet Southern girl. Unless you piss me off, and then all bets are off then.

Heyzeus-Just think of the lines my friend. Just think of all the great lines.

Peter Cavan-that seems to be the consensus among fans of the show-hated it when it first aired, like it now. And they edit out that entire scene in syndication. They showed that episode Monday night here in Charleston and the entire thing-Bart telling Milhouse that he has to be the night watchment, the rat falling into the cup before the coffee, etc.-isn’t there. Kinda sucks cause it’s a nice little story in the bigger episode.

Aww, Wahoo. You’re my new favorite person.

10. steve - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

It’s not so much that we thought you were a boy… we were just having serious questions about CDNMoose and why he was spending time in the girls bathroom.

11. cdnmoose - Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Homer: That John is the greatest guy in the world. We’ve gotta have him and his wife over for drinks sometime.
Marge: Hmmm, I don’t think he’s married, Homer.
Homer: Oh, a swinging bachelor, eh? Well, there’s lots of foxy ladies out there.
Marge: Homer, didn’t John seem a little…”festive” to you?
Homer: Couldn’t agree more! Happy as a clam!
Marge: He prefers the company of men!
Homer: Who doesn’t?
Marge: Homer, listen carefully. John is a ho…mo…
Homer: Riiight….
Marge: …sexual.
Homer: ……..aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

12. Levi - Wednesday, April 11, 2007

Hmm, never saw this episode. I’ve always been more of a Futurama fan. Blasphemous, I know. I’ll have to check this episode out. Great post by the way. Except for the whole part about kicking a dude in the nuts. That hurts. Like, a LOT.

13. Greek McPapadopoulos - Wednesday, April 11, 2007

“I was watching. I saw the whole thing. First it started falling over, then it fell over.” Good choice.

14. lakawak - Monday, July 8, 2013

Considering “cromulent” means “Acceptable”, this title makes no sense.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

